painting my dirtbike

hey wuts up everyone i just joined this forum so im a newbie...

i want to paint my 1994 ktm 300 exc dirtbike flat black to get rid of that white frame color and those purple and yellow decals that came stock on the bike but im not really sure what to use..ive mostly heard its good to use krylon fusion. but im kinda nervous about using spray paint....can u guys help me out???....

my best advice would be to not paint your bike. if you want you can buy black plastics and decals...not paint it. the only things that could be painted is the metal and it would need to be with a better quality paint and done by a professional.

I just had my frame, subframe and tripleclamps powdercoated. You have to have the old powdercoating sandblasted off first, so my total turned out to be about $240 (which was pretty much in line with all the quotes I got before I took it in).

Regular ol' paint won't do it. If you're not interested in powdercoating, there's a couple of other options: You can have it nickel plated, or there's a new type of powdercoating that has a lot of plastic in the actual coating, so that it is much more flexible and holds up better to dirt bike abuse.

But if you rattlecan it, it will look like crap in a hurry.

I was pretty happy with my results. He didn't plug all the threaded holes, which I thought he was going to, but it didn't take too long to chase them out afterwards. It's got a couple of nicks in it, but not too bad since my first ride after reassembling the bike was in some seriously rocky singletrack. And luckily I have a bottle of nail polish just that color :thumbsup:

ya i was thinkin bout that but I was lookin at new plastics and there are none for 1994 its like there out of production everywhere i look...the earliest ones ive seen are about 98...