Difficulty of replacing a cam chain

Basically, I want to know if I'm in over my head. I haven't ordered the bits and peices yet, since I want to pull it apart and see what I need. I'm new to four stroke mechanics (I know the basics) so give some leeway on misnamed parts. I pulled off the (valve cover?) to expose the valve train. I see the rocker arms (yea?) valves, valve springs, cam, cam chain. The chain I think needs replacing, I can wiggle it around and pull it upwards slightly from the (cam gear?). How much further do I have to delve into this to replace the chain, and do I need to replace the tensioner? One other question, if I pull this next layer off, are the valve springs going to like, pop out, thus requiring me to buy a valve spring compressor? :thumbsup: I know, a lot of questions, but help me through!

haha, no, the valve springs will not "pop off" the head all comes off as one piece (including the whole valve train). the next section under the head would be cylinder. nothing special their. as for serviceable limit on your cam chain. im not sure, prolly refer to a service manual if you can. also, i have yet to see a 4-stroke where you can remove the cam chain WITHOUT removing the crankshaft (or at least sliding it out a little). probably wait for a more knowledgeable person to answer.

the cam chain stretches over time, after a while your timing is a few degree's out, loosing you power, but mroe worrying (particulary if you own a yamaha) is that if you leave it to long, the timing gears wills start to wear (just like a stretched chain will wear your front and rear sprockets), which will then also need replacing, back to it being very bad if you own a yamaha, the timing gear on the crank in a yamaha engine is not detachable, it is machined along with the crank, so if yuo own a yamaha and you let it stretch to that point, you'll need a whole enw crank.