Sign in to follow this  

YZ125, CRF250, or YZ250F...

Hi! Yet another newbie here...

So, I race flat track, and just started last year on a TTR125. Fantastic starter bike, and I had a great time learning on it...however, it's time to the move to the next level.

I'm 107 lbs, 5'2" and have been riding for about 10 1/2 years. I ride some MX practice days (would like to enter a race next year maybe), and would like something I could use for trail riding as well. Also, we ride on the ice up here all winter long...so I need something that is usable in those conditions also.

So, I've got a friend with a '95 YZ125 that's modded to the gills and is completely set up for flat track (suspension, exhaust, tires, etc) that he wants $1200 for. I rode it in the races yesterday, and while I loved the power, I couldn't start the bloody thing, died out on the starting line in the mains, and couldn't get it restarted - had to have help doing a running start. Very awkward and exhausting. This concerns me.

I have another friend who rides an 06 YZ250F that she loves (and also wins on)...if I get the YZ, I'd be racing the same class as her. Would I be competitive (assuming I can reign in the power) in a class full of 4t's?

I'm a lone wolf (no pit crew, just me to rely on for mechanics/issues) and while I'm okay with working on my bikes (and getting better), would a 2t be incredibly high maintenance?

I've seen a lot of CRF250's around as well and although I've never ridden one, I've heard good things. But they are a little spendy, and the cheaper the better, for me anyway 🙂

Thoughts?