Sign in to follow this  

Ordering Clutch and Parts

Hey guys,

I need a new clutch for my 07WR250F. This is the first time the cluch has needed to be changed, aned i'm new to this so any tips will help heaps.

I need to know what to order and where from?

Should I change the metal plates with the fibre/paper ones? Do I need new springs, or a basket? The bike has 2500kms and about 50hrs on it.

I really like to get all the stuff I need from the TT shop. Whats the best stuff to order?

Is it hard to change a clutch?

Someone must know where I can order this stuff over the net. I don't wanna go to the dealer, they charge so much.

The TT store is a great place to buy parts with their 110% low price guarantee. If you want to just buy OEM parts, there are many online dealers for OEM Yamaha parts. If you want aftermarket I would suggest getting either Hinson or DP clutch components. You will definitely need to replace the friction disks, the steel disks may need replacing if they are warped (refer to the manual for warp specs and how to check for warped disks). If they are not warped you technically don't need to change them, but it isn't a bad idea to change them anyways. It is a good idea to replace the springs as well. The basket will only need to be replaced if it has notches where the disks fit into the fingers on it. The same goes for the inner hub. These should be fine, but if you are abusive to the clutch they will get notches and will need replacing. The pressure plate will only need to be replaced if it is warped, which is pretty rare in my experience.

Every clutch I've seen with exception to DP and moose clutches (which is made by DP), require you to soak the friction plates in oil for a few hours before installing them. It doesn't hurt to do this with the DP plates, it just isn't necessary.