Sign in to follow this  

Riding Position

I have been riding on the street for over 25 years, but am still very new to off-road riding. I'm getting used to standing most of the time, but what is the correct body positioning for downhill vs. level terrain vs. uphill? Thanks.

downhill..... GET AS FAR BACK AS YOU CAN AND DO NOT SIT(unless you enjoy death)

uphill......... I like to sit but get your weight forward as far over the tank as you can get, seated or not its the same and for the same reason

level terrain. Most people will say stand up knees and elbows up. That is the way to stand. Sitting I sit as far forward on the tank as i can comfortably elbows up. in regards to footing put the balls of your feet on the pegs.

Standing now will also keep you out of the bad habit of sitting (like me) and you do tend to ride faster while standing.

The more you ride the more it will naturally come to you the most important thing is to not over ride your ability. If you think "i need to keep my elbows up and look up" you will there is no effort involved its just the way your brain works.

Have fun and be safe

Aw, sitting down isn't a "bad habit"...you can use it to rest, for some corners, standing just lets you get over rough stuff quicker and easier, you'll learn what's worth what. And there's some stuff where you HAVE to sit down to get better traction with the back wheel(at least for me). And there's lots of times(like on hills) where I only come up a bit, enough to let the bike move around. And sometimes you'll just plain get whacked off by branches if you stand up :), or you can ride through that like a jockey:D