Sign in to follow this  

4-stroke Question - Hard to start?

Hi,

I've decided to make the jump to a YZ250. I believe that the YZ250F would be the best flavor for my needs (after much reading and hand wringing). But just as I was feeling pretty comfortable with the decision I ran across some posts and articles that described 4-strokes as "hard to start" when hot, or after a fall. The text seemed to deal with bikes up to about 04 or 05 - is this still the case? Are 4-strokes inherently boogers to start? I noticed, in the features section of the brochure that it has a "hot start" button - is it the "fix" for a dodgy starting system or what?

I'm coming off of a 2-stroke that never failed to start - thus I have little experience to draw on if I get a position where the bike won't start for me.

Thanks

Yeah, the four strokes we have, an 06 CRF250r (son's) and an 08 YZ250f (mine) can be, and have been hard to start when hot. It can be frustrating. I have at least found that my YZf when hot will usually start with a calm slow kick from top dead center, no throttle. A few times I have had to use the hot start. All that does is lean out the mixture when pulled.

I have found that the closer to perfect you can jet these 4t's the better off you are with starting, hot or cold.

There are things I really miss about the smokers. That's just one.:)

• Like 1

250Fs are more finicky than 450s when it comes to jetting and starting. My 450 starts firsts kick, and is easier to kick over than my last YZ250 was. But I do see a lot of peope having a tough time getting their 250Fs started in the heat of battle.

Thanks - that's discouraging news. I suppose you get used to it, and/or develop a fool-proof routine over time...

What concerns me a bit is that at 5'4 I can't straddle the bike. If I'm in a awkward position, like halfway up a hill, and need to start fast I could be in trouble! :)

Sooner or later that 4 $troke will piss you off starting.