Sign in to follow this  

Hot Start Kit for FCR39 Carb

Hi, I bought a FCR39 off ebay for My DRZ400SM, it was missing quite a few bits & being from NZ it took Me months to get all the parts BUT now I need to know if there is a Hot Start Kit I can get for it, the red button one it has on it is too jammed in & it fouls the Carb, I saw on another DRZ that the Guy had a lever up on His handlebars & He used that to control the hot start instead of My crappy setup, is there a Hot Start Kit for FCR39 carbs I can buy in the US?(theres NONE down here in NZ so I will be gettin it from My Friends in the USA)

I hope this makes sense,Im no mechanic & I have been struggling with getting this Carb on,beware of buying them on ebay UNLESS You are 100% sure it is COMPLETE, not like Mine, if I were to get another FCR I wud buy a brand new one from Thumpertalk I think, it may cost a bit more BUT its complete, in fact, its prolly cheaper considering wot was missing from Mine!

Anyway, if anyone has any info about these Hot Start Kits or how to fix My problem I will be VEEERY Happy, Thanks Guys

You do no need the "hot start". It was only used on the kick start DRZ400. Your SM will start fine using "E" start. Just blank off the hot start so it does not leak any air.

Thanks for that Noble, I'll try that, so basically I just have to blank off the hot start (how did You do Yours, with a plug or sealer or something else?)

Then, when its blocked off so no air can link will that prevent the carb fouling as well?

Also, I guess that means that hot start thing is actually completely unnecessary on the 400SM?

One more thing, I have replaced the original DRZ400SM petcock with an DRZ400E petcock because the FCR wouldnt work with the SM petcock

Anyway Noble, I Really appreciate the help,Thanks Mate

Cheers Brainfade