Sign in to follow this  

whats the difference? WR, YZ, TTR (newbie)

i am new to riding and looking to buy a used bike but have no idea where to start. i will be riding mostly woods and open fields. i am 6'1" 230lbs. what would suit me best.

TTR's are more of a trail rider/getting into the sport kind of bike, though a TTR230 (biggest TTR) might be a bit small for you.

A YZ (2-stroke) or YZF (four-stroke) is a motocross bike. That's not to say you can't trail ride them, but the engines are quite a bit faster, the gearing isn't optimized for trails, and the suspension is going to be set for a motocross track (generally speaking).

The WR is sort of a cross between the TTR and YZ/F models. Basically it's the YZ/F model tuned down a bit for trails/woods riding. Has wide ratio gearing (hence WR).

You might want to try and find a good WR250F if you can and once you get more comfortable on that upgrade to the WR450F.

Hope this helps!

A TTR250 or DRZ250/400 would be a good bike for you to get started on.

Once your skills advance don't ever underestimate the ability of a MX bike converted for trail use (YZ or YZ-F). For now, I'd say either the TTR or DRZ or KLX bikes but a WR250F or CRF250X would even work given your size.

If you don't mind the two stroke bike then the KDX200/220 is also a good bike for your size.

TTR's are more of a trail rider/getting into the sport kind of bike, though a TTR230 (biggest TTR) might be a bit small for you.

A YZ (2-stroke) or YZF (four-stroke) is a motocross bike. That's not to say you can't trail ride them, but the engines are quite a bit faster, the gearing isn't optimized for trails, and the suspension is going to be set for a motocross track (generally speaking).

The WR is sort of a cross between the TTR and YZ/F models. Basically it's the YZ/F model tuned down a bit for trails/woods riding. Has wide ratio gearing (hence WR).