Sign in to follow this  

Bike squirrly under braking... wants to lay over. I'm a N00B.

So, I've had this 2001 YZ250 for about two weeks. I've ridden a total of about 10 laps around my 1 acre yard. I got brave today, and opened her up a couple times and wound out first, and briefly hit second. Then I had to get on the binders pretty hard to make my turns.... I could feel the backend fishtail, and then it wanted to lay over and the rear wanted to washout from under me. Either by accident or luck, I managed to give it enough throttle to pull it out of the "slide" and straighten up and go on. This "phenomenon" happened again the next time I tried this. I'm wondering what I'm doing wrong? Too much rear brake? Grass slick? etc.

If you haven't figured it out, I'm a total newbie. I'm 34, and this is my first dirtbike. I've done thousands of miles of mountain biking... but this is my first heavy, wildly powered bike.

Thanks for any tips, pointers, etc.

you just gotta get used to the power, practice, practice and more gas never hurts :)

Sounds to me like you're locking the rear brake.

Start at slower speeds, and without using any front brake slowly apply the rear brake until you feel it start to lock, then release just enough to unlock, then reaply until lock. Do this drill a few times until you get used to the lock up point. Then you can go to higher speeds doing the same thing.

Now go to the front brake only and do the same thing. You'll find that you can very quickly stop the bike with only the front brake from very high speeds without the fear many have of flipping over the bars (too much front brake too quickly and yes, you may do a face plant, so be carefull)

Once you figure out your front and rear brakes, start using them together to find the shortest stopping distance from different speeds.

Practice.

Have fun riding!