Why is my throttle not returning?

My throttle is sticking very badly. Hard to roll on... then sticks open (does not return). I pulled the cables, and ran copious amounts of WD-40 through them to clean out an gunk that may have built up in them... put it all back together... and it's still doing it.

I cleaned the carb when rebuilding the top-end last month, and I checked the slide again... the carb itself if moving freely ~ it's somewhere in the cables or throttle set-up.

Ideas?

moe than likely a cracked throttle tube.I just had that happen to me and it was that stock plastic throttle tube.. it had a crack in it.

Then when i replaced it I was a little sloppy with the glue and I run acerbis hand guards, so the ends of the grips are cut off and glue got between the throttle tube and bars, total newbie move ..I had to cut them off and get new grips.. no more grip glue for me. I used paint (basic flat black paint) then safety wire.. no more stuck throttle.

make sure your routing of the cables is correct.Are they pulling or catching on anything ......

Ya, they're certainly catching. I changed the routing, because I put risers on, and needed more length.

I guess I'll have to break-down and by longer cables, because the routing just isn't allowing them to move freely. ?

Ya, they're certainly catching. I changed the routing, because I put risers on, and needed more length.

I guess I'll have to break-down and by longer cables, because the routing just isn't allowing them to move freely. ?

When I put my Eddy Pumper on I ended up getting custom cables that were 2 inches longer than the stock ones. Even with those cables I had to run them behind the bars then though the top head to frame mount. They now work flawlessly from lock to lock. IMHO the Honda factory cable routing sucks!