Sign in to follow this  

2007 Te 510

Does anyone here have the 2007 (carb) TE510? I'm looking for what mods are appropriate for the bike, I've heard removing some of the emissions equipment makes a big difference. I purchased an overstock earlier this year and was told wait until you have it 6 months before changing anything.

Also for some reason it starts terrible when it has been sitting a few days (it seems like it goes from no gas to flooded in 0 seconds) any techniques that have been working? I should still be able to take it to the dealer under warranty before I change much.

Can I disable the clutch safety for the electric start? I can't hold the choke/hold the clutch/push the starter at the same time.

what top speed have you gotton out of your bike? I don't know what rpm level is acceptable, does 65mph sound right with stock gearing?

I'm a novice when it comes to working on bikes so any help is appreciated.

thanks

Why would you have to hold the choke?? Pull it out, start the bike, when it warms up a bit, press the choke button back in. :)

Do you close the gas valve when you're done riding??

Top speed on a stock geared bike is more like 90+ MPH

Easiest way for me to start mine- pull the choke out

I give the throttle three whacks

then take your hand off & press the start button, I only had trouble when I tried to start it like my old 2 smoke by twisting the throttle while trying to start it. Thats a no no. I didn't even realise I was doing it until I read a few threads here on starting procedure

Like Ruffus said, give it a few twist of the throttle, pull out choke knob, pull in clutch lever and push the button. Fires up in a heart beat. I will admit to flooding the @$#@$ out of mine when I first got it since I had zero experience with 4 strokes. Have a scortched air filter to show for it.:) That would have been tough to explain to my friends how I burned up my brand new bike by flooding it so bad. Live and learn.