Sign in to follow this  

Flooded?

OK, I should know this by now but I am also fairly new to 4 strokes and my bike (06 525) always starts flawless. Current starting procedure....open choke/gas and twist thr throttle like twice and hit the button. Sometimes though in the past it wouldnt start right away so I would twist throttle a few more times....even still once in a while I would still have problems so I would crack throttle all the way and that at the very least would always work, I think I did smething wrong cause it started today and ran for a minute then quit. No matter what I did after that it wouldnt start. I was trying all kinds of things and pretty sure I simply flooded it but? So, Whats the official "proper" starting procedure and how do I really know if I flooded it...and if I did what the best thing to do if flooded?

Usually you will smell raw gas at the mufler or you can pull the plug and see if it is wet. If it is wet, crank the motor over with the plug out to clear the cylinder. Put in a new plug and see if it will start.

When you twist the throttle, you are shooting raw gas from the AP into the intake track. I personelly alway try to start mine without twisting the throttle the first time with chock on. If it does not start, then I will twist the throttle one time and hold it open for a second or two. Then I will try starting again with no more throttle movement. If it does not start still (very rare), I take it off choke and try again without throttle. If it still does not start, I will hold the throttle wide open and crank the motor. Beyond that you will be pulling the spark plug or dragging the bike behind another bike trying to bump start it.