Sign in to follow this  

Any Advice for 1st time HS Racer?

Hey this weekend im riding in a Hare scramble for the first time. Ive been practicing alot and im very familiar with the type of terrain the course will be on. Does anyone have any first timer advice or information to help a bit?

Im also nervous because its my first time racing period. ive been riding for about 4 years and ive become a decently aggressive trail rider. What should i expect in the beginner class for competitors?

drink lotsa water

concentrate on being smooth instead of fast. It'll payoff in teh end

hydration pack (Camelbak)

get sleep

eat carbs the night before

eat breakfast

drink lotsa water

move over when the fast guys come around to lap you

look ahead NOT down at your front wheel.

did I mention drinking water?

You'll be nervous at the start. Don't put pressure on yourself to start fast - just ride comfortable, even when everyone else is roaring off ahead. You see more crashes in the first 5 minutes of a HS... if you take it easy, you won't be one of those crashers.

Pull over for any motorcycle that comes up on you from behind whether they are lapping you or not.

Thank anyone who pulls over for you.

If you crash anywhere, your first responsibility is to get you and your machine clear of the trail, then you can work on re-joining the race.

Pace yourself.

If traffic stacks up at an obstacle, you have two choices: Take a break and rehydrate, or find another (legal) route. Do not blame others for your delay.

A hare scramble is an endurance race. Try to ride smooth for the whole race rather than wear yourself out in the first half hour.

Watch ahead on the trail and try to anticipate log jams and bottle necks. You can quickly lose a lot of time (and energy) if you are doing fine climbing a hill but are right behind someone that doesn't make it and there is no where to go. Keep your eyes open for alternative lines and escape routes if needed.

Most of all, have fun!