Sign in to follow this  

300XCW-E 2008 starting issues

Bought a 300XCW-E without trying based upon the reviews here. Complete newb to the 2T world. Thanks everyone, great bike! Makes the WR feel like a tractor...

With four hours on the engine since purchase, electric starter does not always work on first or second push. Starter would not turn over the engine yesterday. Kick started, engine would run then bog and shut off after a few minutes of riding (similar to running with the fuel petcock off). Tank is full, gas on. Pulled plug, black. Cleaned and re-inserted plug, same issues:banghead: . Any ideas or input would really be appreciated.

Bought a 300XCW-E without trying based upon the reviews here. Complete newb to the 2T world. Thanks everyone, great bike! Makes the WR feel like as tractor...

With four hours on the engine since purchase, electric starter does not always work on first or second push. Starter would not turn over the engine yesterday. Kick started, engine would run then bog and shut off after a few minutes of riding (similar to running with the fuel petcock off). Tank is full, gas on. Pulled plug, black. Cleaned and re-inserted plug, same issues:banghead: . Any ideas or input would really be appreciated.

your jetting is likely too rich.

Thanks for the quick response gmoss. Would incorrect jetting contibute to the starting problem and bog issue?

Thanks for the quick response gmoss. Would incorrect jetting contibute to the starting problem and bog issue?

there have been some issues with the early 08 starters.

the bog has to do with your jetting, likely. You could go with the JD jet kit, if you want to simplify it, or you could get the correct needle and jets, and dial it in yourself. You just need to figure out where it is rich.

I assume your jetting still stock? your elevation and temps?