What to expect from proper springs?

I started riding again this year (last bike was a 81 yz250), and bought a 08 rm250. I'm just starting to get fast enough that the suspension is becoming a problem. I'm currently about 240lbs., and my understanding is that the stock springs are intended for somebody around 160lbs.

I've left the bike stock just because I've been playing around with compression and rebound settings and learning as much as I can, but it is now pretty obvious that I can get the bike right for some spots on the track, but not without screwing it up completely in others.. I'm suspect I'm just way too heavy, and riding way to low in the stroke all of the time to get any sort of reasonable balance.

My question is, if I spend the money and get heavier springs front and back, how much of a difference am I going to feel? I have no doubt that it will make things better, but just how much different is the bike going to feel?

Thanks.

It makes all the diff. you can possible imagine. I was on the light side of my stock suspension and when I would hit big jumps it wasn't if but which way I would get crossed up. Made for some very scary moments and a few crashes. First time on the track after getting new springs and was able to kill jumps and had WAY more confidence. I do recommend changes your oil in your shock and forks while you are at it. I personally use maxima, but I hear great things about DaveJ's "magic" oil. Stop putting it off and get new springs you will wonder why you kept waiting!

I reset my sag yesterday, and at 102mm, I've got 6mm of static sag. I was really surprised by that. I'll be calling tomorrow about heavier springs.

I read somewhere around here that when going to much heavier than stock springs that a re-valve is in order. Should I be considering that as well?

I reset my sag yesterday, and at 102mm, I've got 6mm of static sag. I was really surprised by that. I'll be calling tomorrow about heavier springs.