Sign in to follow this  

Need Advice on Used DR-Z

Hi Guys,

Yes I am new to the site. I have been riding SS bikes for 3 years now, and this year being my first for actual track riding (which is AMAZING!!):) Right now I'm looking into getting a DR-Z to commute on in town. It would be a good bike for going back and forth to class on and plus it just seems like a fun bike. I have not ridden one yet (most likely that will change today) but from what I've heard they are a fun bike....even though they are underpowered and heavy for a SM. But the "low" maintenance is what really turned me toward the DRZ.

Anyway the bike is a 2006 DRZ400 SM, Full Yoshi Pipe, Jet Kit, Air Box Mod, Air Filter....but 7000 miles on it. The guy is asking $4000 for the bike. What do you guys think about this? It seems like 7000 miles on a single cylinder motor is a lot to me, but like I said, I'm new to this whole SM thing. I've been searching on this website for the past couple days trying to learn as much as I can about these bikes and now I really just want your guys opinion on if this is a good bike to buy.

On a side note, here is what I did this summer on the Gix (one event.) Yes it is a "Police Bike" theme....No i am not a cop :lol

IMG_2240.jpg

IMG_4623.jpg

IMG_8157.jpg

IMG_3969.jpg

IMG_5469.jpg

Now as far as mileage thats not to bad. I have 11500 on mine now and when I bought it last yr it had 4000 on it. All I do is change the oil and have fun:thumbsup: well and put gas and change tires. I paid 4000 for mine last yr so the price to me seems to be in the same ballpark and mine was all stock.:worthy:

:):D

Depends on how well it's been maintained. How often the oil was changed, valves checked/adjusted, any of the common fixes been done (primary nut fix, c/s sprokcet fix, etc. Could be like new internally, or shot. :)