Sign in to follow this  

Bought myself a Monty...with Pedals!

I have two words of advice for anyone who wants to give pedal trials a try....

SHIN PADS.

I thought the difference would ruin me on the moto bike, but so far, so good. The brake / clutch / front / rear discombobulation seems to go away instinctively after a quick warm up. Great Fun. :)

MontyTrials1.jpg

I've been riding those for a few months. Never worn shin guards (and you can tell! :) )

Just picked this one up a few days ago:

zoopitbull.jpg

Just managed to gap 5ft yeasterday- Woohoo! :D

They do make excellent cross training though. Tons of good riders from each sport dabble in the other.

I think it was Toni Bou that said that he actually spends more time on the bicycle than on the moto!

It used to be that just about all the spanish trials riders were ex-bicycle trials champs.

Quick question, why no disc on the rear?

Really just weight. The disks are quite a bit heavier than rim brakes, and you really don't get as much grab or "lock" from them.

Only problem is that to get rim brakes to work well for trials, you have to grind the rims (basically scratching them up so that they are really rough), put tar on them, or both. When you do this, however, it eliminates any kind of modulation, the brakes become like light switches. If you try to use a ground rim brake like you would on a motorcycle, the pad would be gone in hours. So in order to have one brake with some modulation, most people run a disk brake in the front. And since most of the moves that really stress the brakes are on the rear wheel, you don't have to worry about not having the strongest front brake.

Oh- I also made 5ft 6 inches today! :)

Really just weight. The disks are quite a bit heavier than rim brakes, and you really don't get as much grab or "lock" from them.