Sign in to follow this  

port and polish

hey. i want to port and polish the heads on my 5.7. does anyone have experience with it? What kind of time frame am i looking at being that it is my first time? What tools do I need (i think a dremel, misc dremel attachments. not sure what else)? What kind of power gains can I expect (torque and hp)? I have heard that it is not that difficult and the only thing that really makes me nervous is port matching...any advice is appreciated!! Thanks!!

Dont even mess with porting the heads especially if you havent done it before, send them in or leave it alone. You can really screw up the motor if you port them way to much. Im thinking you want to do this on your truck, if its your daily driver leave it alone and throw and exhaust on it.

You can smooth out the bumps and ridges from casting, as well as the bump where the valve seats are pressed in with a dremel tool. For gasket matching you just center the gasket over the ports and trace the opening with a sharpie. To do a good job it might take around 30min per port x16 and longer if you decide to gasket match the intake manifold. Dont get carried away and hog out the head. You can hurt performance very easily.

Dont even mess with porting the heads especially if you havent done it before, send them in or leave it alone. You can really screw up the motor if you port them way to much. Im thinking you want to do this on your truck, if its your daily driver leave it alone and throw and exhaust on it.

+1 You may end up with a set of heads that perform worse than it does now.

Steve