Sign in to follow this  

Semics Course - Review

Well, I got home late last night from the Semics Course and am taking it easy today. I am pretty darn sore from riding quite a bit. We basically rode for about 5 1/2 hours or so a day. Most of the training is done on his track, and when I say most, I would say 95%.

The first day was all corners. Gary made a couple of big circles and then turned the two circles into a big oval. We started by learning some basics, and then some more technique was thrown in. I loved the dirt. It was nearly perfect after he disked it up. It was pretty amazing to go from the speed that you start, and then the speed that you have when you finish the drill. I am a beginner on 2 wheels, and I felt awfully slow at first. By then end of the day, I felt some confidence that I can handle a corner now. The thing I liked best was having Gary point out what you were doing wrong. What I thought I was doing and what I was actually doing were entirely different. ie. I thought I was riding with my elbows up. Gary pointed out very quickly that I need to get them in the proper position, even though I thought I had them there. Well, when I got them in the right position, it was so much easier to control the bike and it was awesome.