Sign in to follow this  

Newbie & problems

Greeting all-

Nor Cal newbie here who after a 30 yr hiatus is back in the dirt on an '02. Besides the ego bruises of being slower than the average kid on an xr100, my first impression of my "new" used bike was:

1. Very loud mechanical noise (valve clatter?)

2. Stalling. Particularly after warm in low gear or going down hill w/ rear braking

3. Rear brake lock up. Too sensitive.

4. Existing shift lever is too short.

I know most of the answers are here for the searching, so if you already know the thread that answers any of my problems (crf ones that is) please let me know. Also, if anyone knows of a good northern cal / San Jose area mechanic please also let me know.

The first of its kind.. the 2002 was such an awesome bike when it first came out, and its prob still too much bike for most of us these days anyway...

Crf's in general have loud running mechanical noise located around the head area at idle... Id have the valves checked ( or even do it yourself ) your owners manual will have everything you need in it!

The stalling problem is more often then not the style of bike it is.. They have a light flywheel and tend to stall easier then other enduro style bikes.. But thats just MHO..

The shift lever can be replace with a larger aftermarket unit.. Like a hammerhead gear lever customised to your foot size...

Hope I could help....

Check to see if it still has the automatic cam chain adjuster. They go bad and destroy your motor 👍 Check your cam chain tension and valves. I replaced my autotensioner with a manual one from TT. BTW I love my 02, having come back after around 30 yrs off. Good luck.