Sign in to follow this  

Best way to get speed for motocross

Hey guys im an amateur rider who is tired of getting passed. I like to ride on tracks like Action Town and Tomahawk but that is only once in a while when we go. At my house I have trails even though i would prefer a track in the field. My question is what would be the best way to increase my speed dramatically?

I ride by myself so its hard to really push. Any suggestions?

Practice, umm...practice, and yeah and when you think you have had enough.....do more PRACTICE!!!! You can buy one of gary semics dvd's, there is alot of good information about technique you can work on. Circle and oval drills are great for corner speed. Work on technique, try hard and work on your endurance, thats the only way.

Practice and seat time. Working out helps a lot too. The more you ride and push yourself the more you will find techniques and ways to get faster. But if you dont try to go faster everytime you ride then you will just stay the same. My big gains in speed have come from pinning it out of corners and getting on the breaks at the last possible place before the next corner and trying to improve my cornering. Most people who are learning do not lean their bike enough in turns, they think they are leaning but they are not. I struggled with corners till I put more faith in my machine and started coming into them faster, standing up, and only sitting at the apex of the turn. Suddenly turning started making sense and I have gotten much much better at cornering. I dont race much, but I can keep up with some B riders around here. I lack endurance though, which is why I threw in the working out thing, going fast will wear you out man, start running, it will help a ton. I am also not a girl so dont think cause my user is dirty jenny that I am some chick that rides a crf150 trying to give you advice, I ride a 2008 yz450.