Sign in to follow this  

Could a S cam be better for off idle torque ?

Ok been thinking lately after riding that darn 525 Katoom ! I loved the off idle torque of the old school type of thumpes something I have always felt was missing on the DRZ. Right before I went for the 440 and Hotcam I had my S dialled in where I could lift the front with S cams and BSR carb in second. I then went to the Hotcam intake and although it pulled harder I'm sure the power shifted to higher revs ? Now with the FCR and 440 it pulls really well but again not that snap I want. I know the DRZ is more suited to revs and hp than torque but what if I put my S intake cam back and add a Hotcam ex cam instead where I now have it the other way around ? I'm no engineering guru but the milder cams might be better suited to producing torque at lower revs ? What do you guys reckon 👍

Stay with your Hotcams. Did you have the Hot Cams degreed for your engine?

You can also have them shifted slightly to enhance low end, at the expense of peak Hp, of course. Cannot have both.

Nope installed them as they came out of the box.

Degreeing them can make quite a difference. Engines vary enough that optimum performance requires cams to be degreed. For example, I degree a set on cams perfectly in my engine and give them to you. You install them and check them. You will probably find they are off. Manufacturing tolerances from the woodruff key slot in the crank to the cam drive gear to the condition of your cam chain to the bore centers in the head of the cam journals can accumulate, throwing the cam timing off by a few degrees.

Degreeing is not too hard, requires some special tools (TT store sells a Hot Cams Degreeing kit), some patience and a few hours tops. Pop over and I'll show you how to do it...... 👍