Sign in to follow this  

Question About Looking Ahead.

Okay, for starters I wanna know how far I should look ahead. Secondly, when I look ahead and spot a real skectchy section, I like to look closer to my wheel when I'm in that section just so I can see what its like and how my bike reacts. Should I just try to trooper through or is it alright to look like this sometimes?

I'm no expert but I always try to look at least 20-30ft ahead.When you get to a difficult section that distance drops and I always think"pick a line" and follow through.

I have trouble when I get off my line or when I lose concentration of where I want to go.

This is for sigle track in the mountains on tight rocky trails and usually second gear is the highest I can get.

spending too much time looking at my tire for me= loosing my line and leaving the trail.

I adjust my visor as high as possible. I really just try to look as far ahead as

possible and make a mental note of the line I want to take. Sounds weird, but

your brain should be constantly recording and deleting sections as they go by.

If you pick a line and look in front of your fender, you'll be surprisingly slower.

I generally look ahead as far as I can see(which may be 5 feet:D)--just because I always have to look out for people coming the other way(one way trails would be SO cool!). SO try this