Sign in to follow this  

03 250f won't start hot

I just bought a 2003 yz 250f, it has a thumper 280cc kit installed and runs very well. The only problem I am haveing is it will NOT start when it is still hot. After it cools down it starts fine.

I have limited experience with 4 strokes, and this is my first yzf.

Could someone please give me some hints on how to start it hot.

thanks , stevenrees1@yahoo.com

typical intake valves need shimming issue.

or if valves are in adjustment, the pilot jet may be too fat.

or fuel screw set too fat.

or idle set to low

or float stuck closed

or fuel boiling

or.....

well the list has many variables. but the obvious ones are well, pretty darn obvious.

+2 on the pilot jet/fuel screw setting.

Valves typically (when too tight) cause cold start issues. As the engine heats up, the clearances widen.

Dont you have that backwards? When metal gets hot, it expands, and thats why engines have clearances, to account for the expansion when heated. So I would think valves being to tight would cause more issues when hot, not allowing the valves to close all the way. Maybe I am missing something.👍

Aluminum expands more than most of the other metals used in the head. So for argument sake, the vlave stem grows .001", the aluminum grows .002" So the valve ends up with a tad more preload and the cam also moves a little further from the bucket.

you have it backwards william.

if it wont start cold because of valves it will NEVER start hot because of the valves. in one harescramble i was at, crf250 had to be pull started before the race. during the race his bike stopped running at about the 1 hr 30min mark. he was being towed back to camp by a quad.

Aluminum expands more than most of the other metals used in the head. So for argument sake, the vlave stem grows .001", the aluminum grows .002" So the valve ends up with a tad more preload and the cam also moves a little further from the bucket.