Sign in to follow this  

turbo project: redux

I've been dropping hints about it for a while, and yesterday I finally started the new turbo system for the DRZ.

I spent almost all day yesterday playing with placement of the new turbo. One of the things I really really wanted to try for was make it possible to run a 21" front wheel with this turbo system so if I so desire, I could run dirt bike tires if I ever feel like it

The new turbo is a decent amount smaller than the old one and I thought I was going to be able to run it higher up, near the triple tree's without clearance issues, but once I got it torn down and started playing with positions, it just wasn't going to happen.

So then I started playing with offsetting it to the side in either direction to make room for the tire. I can feasibly pull it off on either side, but both sides it will stick out just a small amount more than the radiator, and it complicates the piping. It will look a little messy, because all the piping will be concentrated on whichever side I run it

I'm trying to have my cake and eat it too......but compromises. Always compromises!

I've settled on offsetting it to the left side and will start welding it up tonight. I'll take some pics before the day is over. Stay tuned

Just a thought, STS turbo's are remotely located where the muffler would be www.ststurbo.com . I don't know how well it that would work for a DRZ, but you'd have the best sounding muffler around!

I await the finished product. You pulling off the previous turbo setup? Would you sell your old setup to anyone? hint hint hint...

Just a thought, STS turbo's are remotely located where the muffler would be www.ststurbo.com . I don't know how well it that would work for a DRZ, but you'd have the best sounding muffler around!

I think the intake piping would be too long to do this, it isnt a big turbo and getting the CFM out of it to fill those pipes would create significant lag.