Sign in to follow this  

If no catalytic converter, is either unleaded or leaded gas better for the engine?

Hi all,

I own a Honda Astrea Supra 100cc scooter for small errands in Europe. For the longest time I have been using leaded fuel (since 1999). This summer for the first time I ran regular unleaded instead (for no real reason). I did not see any visible difference whatsoever. Note that there is no catalytic converter on the scooter from the factory.

I'd like to know if there are any benefits to running one or the other from the engines point of view; I seem to remeber an airline mechanic telling me that leaded fuel is better for the engine since it contains lubricating properties, but I can't be sure. He also told me that as long as it was still available, that I should continue to use it instead of unleaded.

Any comments welcome.

Thank you in advance,

TZ.

If... the engine is designed for unleaded, the it is a better choice. Leaded fuels can increase the amount of deposits in the engine. Lead in fuel was there to provide lubrication effect to valve seats.

If... the engine is designed for unleaded, the it is a better choice. Leaded fuels can increase the amount of deposits in the engine. Lead in fuel was there to provide lubrication effect to valve seats.

Thank you.

TZ.

i wouldnt use lead on anything newer then late 70's.

its actually ok to use zinc in your oil or gas,

they use it all the time on air cooled VW motors to lubricate and help cool the magnesium cases. a lot of hardcore vw guys use the green kendall oil its green cause it has a high zinc content. and there are several other MC oils that are green im not sure but i think they are green for a high zinc content, but maybe they just dye it:excuseme: anyone know?