Sign in to follow this  

DS Tire Pressure?

Can someone make a recommendation re: proper tire pressure? I recently DS's my 2002 WR250F & mounted DS Kenda's to try them out along with the whole concept of DSing.

It's been recommended I run 30psi but is this the choice of the Forum? Also, since I'm new to DS, what's the procedure when going off-road from such high tire pressure? 30psi seems like a sure get-off in the dirt!

Thx in advance to the Forum. Bob in AZ

I run anywhere between 20-25psi on my DS XT250 for both road and dirt, but if I'm only riding dirt, I'll lower it to 15-17psi. 30psi is a little high for a DS tyre, unless they're primarily street tyres with a non-aggressive tread. Lower it to about 23 and try that

If it's alot of back and forth between street and dirt I'll run 20psi. Dirt 12-15psi, highway 30psi. Those little CO2 inflators work well for airing-up quickly, 1 cartridge can air you back up about 2times front and back.

30 is needlessly high.

I run 18 front/22 rear for street, and 14 front/16 rear for pure dirt. For a combination ride, I kind of just split the difference between the two.

Thx for the ideas, guys. I've got some good guidance here & now I'm glad I asked. Bob in AZ

If it's alot of back and forth between street and dirt I'll run 20psi. Dirt 12-15psi, highway 30psi. Those little CO2 inflators work well for airing-up quickly, 1 cartridge can air you back up about 2times front and back.

can you use the CO2 inflators to air up a tire from 14psi to 20psi after a dirt ride? and can you do this multiple times? or are the inflators a one shot use? I gotta look into this more, saw the inflators at the stealership but really did not look too hard at them.

can you use the CO2 inflators to air up a tire from 14psi to 20psi after a dirt ride? and can you do this multiple times? or are the inflators a one shot use? I gotta look into this more, saw the inflators at the stealership but really did not look too hard at them.