Sign in to follow this  

help me pick out a bike everyone! PLEASE!

well i'm new to this part of thumpertalk, i've been ini the xr600/650 side for a good while now. i've had several bikes i started on an xl80 then xl200 then xr400 then xr650l and my last one was my tagged xr650r. i loved the 650L but it was really heavy, but it was smooth like my old 400 and 200. I'm lookin for something street legal but its not a necessity. i've read that the xr250l's can get upwards of 70mpg, that just makes me want one. how fast would i(a 6'4" 260lb guy) be able to cruise on one? also if i was to get another 400, what kind of gas mileage can you obtain out of one of these when you are cruising around? its NOT so much power i'm looking for or accelleration, but crusing speed and i guess suspension which brings me my next few questions....

these bikes are really getting my attention again because they are already have a title and all the xl line, i know they are dated but i was looking at xl250r's how do they compare to the xr250r's and xr250l's? and the next bike was the xl350? pro's and cons with thtis bike? how terrible and non adjjustable are the suspension set ups on these bikes with a guy my weight? Thanks sorry for all the q's at once!!!!

I not sure what you're looking for. Is it a tagged bike? An economical bike? Both? Neither?

A stock 250L will get killer fuel economy, but they seem to top out around 80mph. Keeping the speed below 60mph will put less load on the engine. Something like a 650L or 650R will easily cruise at 70, but will get mileage comparable to economy cars.

I had a '94 250L at one time and I really regret selling it. It wasn't a ball of fire, but it was still fun and got great economy, even when wailing on it. Think of a 250L as a lighter, less powerful 650L. I'm lucky to get 30mpg with my 600R.