Sign in to follow this  

Opinion of my Rad (pics inside)

Hello everyone, well when I first got my bike I crushed my Rad, have been riding with it like this for a couple years.. I think I did a bit more damage to it, and where I now ride is much hotter and I have a problem overheating, even when riding really fast with lots of air movement.

It does not leak and I poured water in each of the inlets and water goes through to the rest... would you consider this rad still functional as I am a broke student right now just trying to make it until winter.. or is this affecting my cooling? Thanks.

P.S. Ill add pictures of my Flatland racing guard that bent on a slow fall.. not impressed, but it DID do it's job I guess.

Aug242008001.jpg

Aug242008002.jpg

Aug242008005.jpg

Rad guard after what must have been a slow tip over, cant even remember it.

aug242008006.jpg

aug242008009.jpg

aug242008007.jpg

justa guess but i'd say you got at least a 10% loss in cooling right there but it is still fixable :thumbsup:

a good local radiator shop should be able to straighten that right up and a lot cheaper then a new RAD.

justa guess but i'd say you got at least a 10% loss in cooling right there but it is still fixable :thumbsup:

a good local radiator shop should be able to straighten that right up and a lot cheaper then a new RAD.

10% of that one rad or 10% overall? Quite interested.. add to the fact that Rad Guards don't help anything and it is about 37'C when it is hot out.. so yeah worth fixing...

I had heard about the Mylers shop in Utah I believe doing awesome work, but never thought about just a local radiator shop.. thanks for the tip I'm gonna check er out!!

A local shop should be able to straighten it out. I probably wouldn't bother if it's not leaking. My radiators are pranged on both sides but since they don't leak I don't worry about it.