Thinking of getting an 08 WR250F

I've been looking for a bike for a while now (this will be my first) and now finally have the funds to get one. Today I went up to my local shop and looked at a few different models and manufacturers . There were a couple that caught my eye: 08 wr250f and the suzuki drz400e. Both are in the same price range but offer different things that im looking for.

Im fairly new to dirtbikes, im usually on a quad. Being in southern california im gonna spend most of the time in the desert but i do travel to different areas that have trails. On the 250 i like the light weight and the suspension seems really good, all in all it just feels good. The only thing im worried about is the engine size. Im not a small guy (5'10 200 pounds) and im worried that i might outgrow it as i get more experience. But on the other hand ive rode 250 quads and they seem to move really well.

I pretty much want a good bike that will be able to keep up with me in the long run.

Id like to hear some opinions before i go ahead and pick it up.

For tight trails, the WR 250f is going to be worlds better than the DR-Z.

I'm probably going to get blasted for saying this, but for the desert I'm not sure the WR has much of an advantage over the DR-Z. The DR-Z's weight is going to make it more stable at high speeds and the seat is more comfortable if you're going to be pulling all day rides. Also that big 400 is going to be less stressed in the open stuff.

Both bikes need a bunch of $$ thrown at them to really run. However in stock trim they're newb friendly.

BTW a DR-Z 400e shouldn't even be in the same price range as an '08 WR 250f. IIRC the last year for the 400e (2007) the MSRP was $5199. If they're the same price the WR is a no brainer. If you can get the DR-Z for $1000-$1500 cheaper than the WR then it deserves serious consideration IMO.