pw50: how much oil inside crankcase?

Hi, I am rebuilding a pw50 engine. After opening removing the cylinder and looking inside the crankcase, there is quite a lot of oil inside. I am new to 2 stroke engines and I can't say if this is normal or not. Before the rebuild, the engine was smoking badly. Is the right oil seal shot and leaks oil in the crankcase from the transmission? Thanks!

Hi, I am rebuilding a pw50 engine. After opening removing the cylinder and looking inside the crankcase, there is quite a lot of oil inside. I am new to 2 stroke engines and I can't say if this is normal or not. Before the rebuild, the engine was smoking badly. Is the right oil seal shot and leaks oil in the crankcase from the transmission? Thanks!

There shouldn't be any oil (in any quantity) inside the crankcase on a 2 stroke. There will be an oil/gas mixture coating on everything (that's how it's lubricated), but there shouldn't be any standing oil in there.

It sounds like either the carb needle stuck and filled the crank case with oil/gas mix, or the oil seal is shot and it allowed transmission oil to enter the crankcase cavity.

i think he means the gearbox. its not allot, like a 1/3 of a quart.

i think he means the gearbox. its not allot, like a 1/3 of a quart.

If you remove the cylinder and look straight down into the crankcase, that's not the transmission/gearbox.:thumbsup:

There shouldn't be any oil (in any quantity) inside the crankcase on a 2 stroke. There will be an oil/gas mixture coating on everything (that's how it's lubricated), but there shouldn't be any standing oil in there.