Sign in to follow this  

Gettin my bike saturday

SO after months of research, shopping around, then actually finding a dealership that even had a wr250r left in stock, im picking mine up on saturday. Im pretty excited. Took, and passed, my motorcycle permit test this morning so im good to go on that aspect. I just have a few questions.

How much can the bike be lowered without the lowering link? im only 5' 8" so the stock 36 point something inch seat height is a little up there for me to be comfortable as im just starting out. Ive ridden before but am no where near an experienced rider so i would like to get atleast two half feet on the ground.

Ill probably have them order me an exhaust and just have it put on the loan. I know a lot of people have the FMF on here but im kind of interested in the yoshimura. What one would you prefer? also is an EFI programmer a necessity when you put an aftermarket exhaust on or just something nice to have?

Im sure ill have a ton more. Any other information you think i should know cant hurt either. thanks a lot. Me and a few buddies are going for a ride saturday. Ill see what i can do for pictures.

Congrats on the new bike. As for lowering the bike, one way to assist getting it slightly lower is to set the suspension up a little softer that way you will get a little more sag when you sit on the bike therefore taking it down lower. That said, it will effect the performance of the bike. How much do you weigh? If you don't mind me asking. I am 5'10" tall and about 177lbs and really don't have any issues.

I also naturally ride using only one foot on the ground at stops for the most part. This way you can keep the rear brake covered. I would suggest once you get a little experience under your belt and are a little more comfortable with the bike try approaching your riding this way. Anyway off topic.