Sign in to follow this  

not getting any faster!

hi ive been riding dirt bikes for about 3 years, but i just started riding motocross last july. i have been improving alot so far at most of the local tracks (riding 125b now =)) but my practice track i cant seem to get any quicker at! if someone could give me a few pointers, heres a vid from this april.

i moved up from the 02 in the vid to an 06 and i feel alot faster but im about the same lap times on this track...

Your not doing too bad, one thing I notice, your back is straight up, you should try to arch your back a bit to get your head closer to over the bars, it will help your center of gravity and the bike will not want to stand up in turns.

bend your elbows out and push on the bars ( forward ) you will see this will help with any arm pump.

on your jumps, need to get off the seat and center yourself on the bike, your head again should be over the bars slightly.

Lastly, have you been adjusting your suspension ? It appears the rebound is way too tight, when you go thru the small whoops, the bike is packing down too much, try loosening it a few clicks

anyway pm me if you need some more help.

Al

on your jumps, need to get off the seat and center yourself on the bike, your head again should be over the bars slightly.

Lastly, have you been adjusting your suspension ? It appears the rebound is way too tight, when you go thru the small whoops, the bike is packing down too much, try loosening it a few clicks Al

its alot easyer jumping on my new bike, the 02 in the vid had really tall bars and i couldnt get over the front when jumping, and good eye! the springs were for a 180lb rider (im 110lbs). but yea ill have to try the arching back and stuff. i noticed ryan villopoto is really arched and his neck is so close to the bars when coming out of corners and stuff