Sign in to follow this  

stock fork spring rate?

Hi,

I'm a newbie here, and just wondering if anybody knows the stock fork spring rate on the 230? Mine is an '07 and I just installed the BBR fork and shock springs, but they are way too stiff for my weight (140 lbs.), so now I've ordered the Works Performance shock (Pro Gasser), but I can't find any Race Tech fork springs that will match up (about a .43 spring rate??), so I'm wondering if I should just stick the stock springs back in (I have the Race Tech emulators)? Any ideas? Thanks so much!

I'm 195+ pounds in all my gear. I'm running the lighter of the 2 weight springs offered with the Works Performance shock. I'm running the Race Tech Emulators, 10w fluid, with stock springs, 16mm spacers, and 5 turns on the emulators.

Suspension works great! I seldom bottom the suspension, and only when hard into the face of a hill that's way steeper than most would attempt at stupid speeds, and off of fairly big trail jumps.

I've gone the stiffer spring/heavier fluid route and I personally feel the lighter suspension settings work better for the great majority of riding conditions encountered off road.

That's awesome you're happy with the Works shock (I debated for a long time to get it or not - now I can't wait for it to arrive!) So, the stock fork springs worked good for you? Do you know what spring rate they are? I can't seem to find that info. anywhere. Apparently, for my weight, I'm supposed to get .41 - .44 progressive springs, but Race Tech doesn't make them, as far as I can find out from them so far, and nobody seems to know the spring rate on the stockers. Any input would be very much appreciated!

Hi,