Sign in to follow this  

R&G Racing Crash Protectors

Hello All,

Had an 08 SM for about 4 months now, good fun bike, like it.

It's got a Yoshi slip on and I'll have the 3x3 and rejetting done (on dealers advice) when there's about 1000 miles on the engine.

I'm no mechanic. I've done a few small "mods", mirror extenders, changed the grips, re set the handlebars, simple stuff.

R&G racing do axle and swinging arm sliders. On the website they have put fitting instructions, which look too simple to be true.

Has anyone fitted these crash protectors?

If so, is it really as easy as R&G make out?

I'm in rainy old England. Hopefully I'll not meet that wonderful combination that is wet road and spilt deisel, but in case I do ........

Many thanks in advance.

Sounds like it uses a similar method most of us alter the factory method for axle slider attachment, using all thread through the axles, w/ acorn nuts or nylock nuts on the ends. Pretty simple application. You can do the same w/ your oem sliders if you choose to. Suzuki uses an attachment method where they are attached w/ rubber inserts that swell when the bolt is turned in, similar to how the bar ends are installed. It's unlikely they would hold up in a crash, so that's why reinstalling w/ allthread is a good idea.

Welcome to TT. 👍

I know R&G can be quite pricey, so for the axle bobbins you're as well going for the ones racers use and that can be had for £16 for a set front/rear - see this ebay link. 👍

I run similar cheap ones on mine...

garage.php?do=viewattachment&attachmentid=59663

I know R&G can be quite pricey, so for the axle bobbins you're as well going for the ones racers use and that can be had for £16 for a set front/rear - see this ebay link. 👍

I run similar cheap ones on mine...

garage.php?do=viewattachment&attachmentid=59663

akis,

Do you know if that guy will ship to the US?