Sign in to follow this  

Stainless steel or paper filters?

common what do you guys use..

and what do you think is the best?

motocross, trail riding

sounds dumb like the type of oil filter type doesn't matter

but could it???

Stainless is better because it flows better when the engine oil is still cold, threrfore the bypass valve does not have to open and flow unfiltered oil. The catch is that you better clean it well and replace the rubber o-ring pretty often. As long as you change the oil often enough it does not matter what you use.

I've read a lot of people like them

I'm new to this, so far...

Tried a Comp Flow from Ready Racing, didn't fit right, no one at Ready Racing answers phone or email so I chucked it.

Tried a Scott's yesterday, seems to fit, no conclusion yet...

see pic, notice Comp Flow is taller even after installation and compression...

this is my first pic so hope it works...

ssfilters2.jpg

i dont really have a clue what brand my stainless steel filter is because it came with the bike

but i had trouble getting it to fit right the first few tries but now it does

dont know how or why it was just stubborn

I have used the Scott's on 3 YZF's over the past 8 years and they are really reliable. It just makes sense to spend the money upfront and make the investment. It almost ensures that you will have a "new filter" every oil change. I cant believe how many times i hear my buddies "just do their oil' because they dint have a new paper filter.

Most people change thier oil after 2-3 rides, during the summer that could be once a week.you can easily spend $8 - $11 on the paper ones so the $70 that you spend on the SS filter can be justified in about 2-3 months!