Sign in to follow this  

timing chain? cam? forks?

i have a 04 yz250f, i'm a car mechanic and see nissan maximas with over 200 links in the timing chain, and 19 more valves than my bike go over 300k miles. ford mustangs and pickups with dohc and 27 more valves and valve springs and just as many links in the chain go over 250k miles, all with original hydraulic tentioners and guides. why do we have to do timing chains so frequently? :D

Also i would like to know what the pros and cons of the hotcams would be for my bike?(besides shortened timing chain and valvetrain life) or what the best overall mods are for power and handling. best exhaust? high comp piston?chassis/unsprung weight loss?

Can anyone please tell me which type of forks are on my bike. its stock. id like to service them myself, but dont know if its cartridge or dual chamber or...?

thanks in advance, all input welcome!

These are racing machines, not cars. They are high performance and are not made to go for a million miles. The timing chains are very light and small and get spun at high RPM's. If you run it too long and let the timing chain stretch too much it will ruin the sprocket on the end of the crank and you will have to replace the crank. It suddenly turns from a $20 job to a $300 job.

Hotcams do give nice power gains, about the same as an aftermarket exhaust. The nice thing about them is they are cheaper than an aftermarket exhaust, and you can't destroy them in a crash. The other nice thing is that they are a pretty mild profile and do not require any other changes to the valve train, and do not add much if any added stress to the valve train. I personally have run stage 2 hotcams in my last two YZ250F's and have never experienced shortened valve life, nor have I heard of many people having valve issues with them. Some of the more aggressive aftermarket cams require stiffer valve springs and can sometimes shorten valve life.