Bike choice, need help!

First off, I am a total beginner. And by beginner I couldn't have even pointed out where the clutch was until someone showed me...I know, dont laugh! I've just started learning to ride my boyfriends dirt bike(s) and I LOVE it and looking to buy my own but just would like some input. I started riding just a few weeks ago on a Honda 80cc but took a fall and now I am a little timid although I am typical a dare devil. My boyfriend's bike is a KDX 220cc and I havent tried it yet because honestly I'm afraid of it not to mention my feet dont touch the ground and its insanely heavy. But the little 80cc I've mastered and I find boring but dont feel like I could make the jump to his 220cc.

I've done a lot of research online and my brain is basically overloaded with information and everything seems quite overwhelming. I've concluded that a 125cc would be a good start for me and I found an 07' Yamaha TTR 125L for sale in my area would like any opinions you guys have on that bike and how quickly I might become bored with it? I'm 5'7'', in athletic shape, but weigh a lot more then I wished (190lbs). Would a 125cc be too small?

Right now, I am only trail riding and trying to gain confidence but would eventually would like to compete. Where would you start?