Broke oil filter bolt

Today I was changing my engine oil and transmission oil. I took off the oil filter, put a new one in and when I was torqueing the bolts back on the oil filter cover to 9ft lbs torque the long 1 snapped. I pulled the bolt out and the piece that was threaded in is stuck in there. I have no idea what to do please help.

Dude if you're lucky the piece thats left in there may not be stuck, often when bolts break they leave a ridge and it can sometimes be enough to try pushing a screw driver or sometimes long nose pliers against it and slowly winding it out.

I work as a cycle mechanic & people bring bikes in all the time with broken bolts & this works quite often.

If not an easy out is probably the only way but i would take it to someone who has experiece with them rather than buying one & trying yourself.

People may disagree but i would suggest ditching the torque except for internal engine parts as i've also seen quite a few bolts broken by them at the recommended torque settings.

Good luck

id be willing to bet if you take the ignition cover off, the broken piece of bolt will be sticking out of the threaded hole in the crankcase and you will simply be able to unscrew it with you're finger. Those bolts seem to have a weakness in the thread as ive seen it on a 2 friends bikes, 1 crf450 and a 250f :D

Dude if you're lucky the piece thats left in there may not be stuck, often when bolts break they leave a ridge and it can sometimes be enough to try pushing a screw driver or sometimes long nose pliers against it and slowly winding it out.

I work as a cycle mechanic & people bring bikes in all the time with broken bolts & this works quite often.

If not an easy out is probably the only way but i would take it to someone who has experiece with them rather than buying one & trying yourself.