Sign in to follow this  

Too much slack / play /clearance

I am new to TT and very impressed by the members and information available. Great resource as I got an '08 DR-Z400 SM a month ago. A return after 22 years of not riding.

Anyway here is the question. The bike is stock with factory sprocket and all. I put the bike in 1st gear, pull the bike back until the chain is taught, and mark the spot on the floor where the tire makes contact. Then I push the bike forward until the chain is taught again and mark the spot.

The 2 spots are 3 inches apart. Chain is correct (40 mm per manual) and also looks OK when I put 2 people (300 lbs) on the bike.

Is this much slack/play nornmal? If not what could possibly be wrong?

Thanks for your help.

Measure the chain slack as per the manual.

I can not tell you how many times someone has told me my chain is too loose. It needs the extra free play to be able to handle the suspension travel.

Yes, as GOF stated it is a dirt bike so the chain needs more slack to accommodate the relatively large amount of suspension travel. Do not compare this with a street bike. I had some trouble convincing myself that it is not too much slack, but after checking out some MX bikes....well you get the point.

Rolling the bike on the ground is not going to work to check chain slack. You could tighten the chain as tight as you could get it and do the same test and there will be some rolling movement cause of the gear lash in the transmission.

Remember with a DRZ, or any dirt bike, too loose is much better than too tight. Too tight will wear the chain, the sprockets, the CS shaft, everything. Too loose? It might wear your chain guides a little quicker. Big whoop.

If there's a range of movement in the specs for slack, go generous and forget about it.

You won't lose the chain, it won't hurt anything to slap around.