KX or KTM

Thought I'd post this question to those that have more experience than I :lol:. Anyway, my son is ready to move up to a 65 and I'm not sure which way to go. Some info...my son is not fast but ready to move up. We do race, but participation and safety is #1...not winning or speed. I'm not a mechanic. So, any thoughts? I have lots of experience with Kawasaki, but none with KTM. I guess the most important thing is reliability...so how is KTM?

Thanks for any advise.

Thought I'd post this question to those that have more experience than I :p. Anyway, my son is ready to move up to a 65 and I'm not sure which way to go. Some info...my son is not fast but ready to move up. We do race, but participation and safety is #1...not winning or speed. I'm not a mechanic. So, any thoughts? I have lots of experience with Kawasaki, but none with KTM. I guess the most important thing is reliability...so how is KTM?

Thanks for any advise.

the ktm is a great bike :lol: but overall the kawi is going to be more reliable, make sure you use a good oil at 32-1 and you'll be fine, there is also more aftermarket support for the kawi and its more fun to mod:banana:

The ktm stock is a little faster and a better racer, but needs much more maint. then the kawi.

I'm with Jam on this 100%.

And when looking at Kawi (used) also look at the Suzuki RM65 - same bike.

TIP - Parts tend to be cheaper if you buy the suzuki ones.

I'd say it would come down to a knowledgeable, well stocked dealer that supports local racing and riders. Either bike is equal in my eyes, and the familiarity with the Kawasaki's would sway me that way, and I think they (kawasaki) support racers a little better at this time, if thats what you're going to be doing. What color does your kid like? That could be the whole issue and deciding point:lol: