Sign in to follow this  

How far can you go with 4.0 gallon tank in Baja

Since I'm new to the 450X, I have no clue on expected fuel milage for Pre-running.

1) How many miles can you get with the IMS 4.0 (?) gallon tank?

2) Has anyone used the Acerbis 4.6 (?) gallon tank?

3) Which is 'better', the 'smaller' IMS or the Acerbis and why?

4) If I don't get around to either of these, how far can I go with the IMS 3.2 (?) gallon drybreak race version?

Thanx!

ka

My IMS 3.2 holds about 3.6 and I can do about 80 miles reliably. Would not plan gas or pit stops over 80 miles with the 3.2. Might be a little better with the new motor. Hopefully Mr. Airtime will chime in on this because he's got a 4.0 and can predict nearly to the ounce distance on fuel with the 450X. There are several discussions already about fuel range on this forum and as I recollect range varies a bunch between us. I'm a throttle chopping tard and sometimes I like to just spin the rear wheel for fun (plus I'm a fat ass so my bike guzzles fuel).

i have a08 wr 450 that i can get avg.35 miles per gallon at an avg.speed of 60the whole time.mind you that it wasn't pinned alot, just because i'm not racing, just cruisin on new mexico dirt, like you.

by the way what area do you live in NEW MEXICAN,i live in roswell.maybe we can ride some time.

Cubera, you just like the throttle too much.

Depending on terrain and throttle usage anywhere from 70 to as much as 105, but I agree with Cubera, about 80 is a safe number. We just carry gas in bottles in our packs.

We did a 120 mile ride last trip with everyone on 3.2's carrying gas in their packs. It was a blast!!!:lol:

Your getting the right answers I see....

90 miles is my 3.2G pre-running distance (in mostly non-sandy conditions), however I carry a gallon in a pack and can make 125 miles. Anything further is just pushing it.