Guys, can I ride long tight trails without running out of gas and no overheating?

Hi Guys,

I've been running my 95 KX 250 for 6 month without a problem. Last Sunday I competed on a Enduro which had 2 stages, 50 miles each, very technical terrain and I had to ask my brother to assist me with some extra gas in the middle of the first stage in order to make it till the end. It was a hot, damn hot day and climbing a few mountains made the bike overheat, had to wait for it to cool of and give it some water.

Now my question is, can I compete for real on Enduros riding such a bike? I suppose most will say that it requires a talented rider and I can tell you that I'm not a complete noob but neither an expert.

I would like to hear from everyone if I should give up on this bike and go for a KDX, RMX or CRF or if I can really make it a reliable woods bike which means that I would have to replace the fuel tank with a bigger one and tweak the cooling system somehow.

Any tip is greatly appreciated!

Thanks a lot

A bigger tank and a stiffer radiator cap with an overflow bottle would be all that you need to solve those problems.

Make sure the radiators are in good shape. No dirt trapped in the fins, and all the fins are straight.

Oh nice, is that something easy to find or would you recommend any store please? Also, I installed a 12oz flywheel weight but I haven't really noticed a big change, do you think that adding a FMF Gnarly Pipe and a FMF Shorty II exhaust would smooth like a KTM 250EXC?

Thanks!

The radiator cap you can get at the dealer. I believe stock is a 1.1, they have an optional 1.6. The over-flow you would have to engineer yourself. I believe if you do a search you will find that several members here have adapted KDX overflow bottles.

The Gnarly pipe is a good choice for nasty conditions. It is made of thicker sheet metal, and enhances low-end torque. The trade-off is that you will lose some top-end.