Sign in to follow this  

crf250r vs. 06 yz 125

I found a guy who has an 06 mint crf250r for $3000 and a another guy who has an 06 mint yz125 for 3000, Im a novice c class rider, i ride mostly tracks but occasionally i ride offroad what do ya guys think??? Thanks alot!

i seen this in the yz forum also, I am a 30+ vet rider. I own both bikes my CRF is a full built ron hamp bike, the YZ lives in various states of tune depending on my mood. If i was going riding for the weekend and i could only take one bike i would take the YZ it is more fun to ride, lighter, easier to start. and it sounds better. I only ride for fun these days, not much racing.

$3000 for a 06 125 is WAAAAAYYYYY too high. It doesn't matter how good of condition it is in thats too much.

$3000 for a 06 125 is WAAAAAYYYYY too high. It doesn't matter how good of condition it is in thats too much.

Whats a good price for it?

What year is the CRF? My friend is selling his '06 yz 125 and it was just fully rebuilt and has new bearings for $1,800.

What year is the CRF? My friend is selling his '06 yz 125 and it was just fully rebuilt and has new bearings for $1,800.

That's a good price. Nothing over around $2200

For a novice rider the 250F is superior. I have an RM144 nad a 250F. The RM jumps, corners and out accelerates the 250F by a good bit. Frankly it is a better bike but it is a hand full to ride fast. The 250F is very forgiving and makes it easier to ride fast on. Is is not as fun but I suspect I am faster in terms of lap time on the F though.

Power is close on both in terms of peak power, but the 250F has a broader power curve and the 4 stroke delivery means the tire has time to hook up. It feels like traction control coming from the 2 stroke world.

Maintenance sucks though. If I had time and was young I'd just learn to ride the 2 strokes faster and forget all the maintenance. Local pros out here on 125's blow past intermediate 450 riders.

Good luck!