Kick start problem

I need help. I'm new to bikes and I have a 99 xr200r (have had for 3 months). Just had valves adjusted and timing chain adjusted (at shop) and kickstarting now seems harder than before. Now today I kick started and when I went down on the kick it seemed to just free kick after about 1/2 way thru kick stroke. It now won't start and kicks free w/ no resistance or compression. I assumed a bad problem and parked. When I roll it while in gear it definitely rolls easier than before the kickstart problem.

Does this sound like a timing chain break?

If so, is this an easy backyard repair? or What other problems might I need to be concerned with? And what about cost of repairing?

as you have rebuilt the engine, it seem to me like the old problem these bike have of damaged kict start gears.

this happens a lot if you do not have the decompresssor fitted.

you should lie the bike on its left side and take off the clutch cover and have a look at the kick shaft, and gears, my old xl 185 sheard off 2 teeth on the large gear on the shaft.

i luckliy had enough old bits in stock so it only cost me a gasket set, but if i had to buy all of the parts it would have cost me the following:-

new rhs crank case, 2 new gears, new shaft, so as you can see it could be costly if you buy new bits.

have a good look first though.

I pulled off the flywheel to inspect the timing chain and the crankshaft sprocket had sheared off. Not sure how to get it off but there's the first problem solved.

sounds like the cam chain was adjusted way too tight. Maybe someone might know if this is possible? Im pretty sure the tensioner is somewhat automatic.

sounds like the cam chain was adjusted way too tight. Maybe someone might know if this is possible? Im pretty sure the tensioner is somewhat automatic.