atf type F in tranny?????

i'm boke after buying two bikes. the guy that answers maintanace questions on the dirt rider web site says it's cool to run atf type F in your tranny of a 2 stroke. would be cheap and easy to get, but is this a dessaster waiting to happen?????????????????? have searched these forums and seen many view points, but just want to know if doing this will hurt my bike. thanks :moon: :moon: :thumbsup:

No it won't hurt your bike and it works great, I've been using for several years now.

I've also been doing this for several years. It works great! Especially in the colder seasons. It seems to cure a lot of the notchy shifting and dragging clutches (thinner fluid). I have yet to see any excess wear because of it.

Aparently Gas Gas now recomends using atf in their trials bikes, gives the clutch a more consistant feel and less drag on the plates.

But I fail to see how using atf will save you some money, atf is about the same price as oil.

+1 ATF, good feel!

Aparently Gas Gas now recomends using atf in their trials bikes, gives the clutch a more consistant feel and less drag on the plates.

But I fail to see how using atf will save you some money, atf is about the same price as oil.

Yes, it's about the same price as motor oil, but probably much cheaper than bel ray gear saver or whatever.

i run that in my wr and i run it in my 5 spd trans in my car & truck !

zero problems 1000's of miles later

sounds good to me! i've just been running crankcase oil in mine... would like to use something that will shift better :thumbsup:

ATF is the same price as oil because really it just is oil. It's only red to avoid confusion with motor oil.

i went ahead and put in some atf. funny how you could spend hours reading debates in this and other forums on wether to use it or not. but i don't race, or ride on a track so even on the gear wear subject i don't think it''ll effect me. thanks for the input guys.