Sign in to follow this  

Purchase of 09 KLR650

As all of you know already,Ive been riding XRs since the dawn of modern man,Ive given this subject much thought Ive done all the homework,Ive read every comparison,and every test Ive been able to find,for the riding I am gonna do,My choice is a KLR 650,simple,it comes better equipped than the XRL,or the Yamaha,bottom line,its liquid cooled,it already has stock many of the add ons that I would normally add to a bike,with a little fine:ride: tuning,pipe,re-jet,air filter,maby open up the airbox,aluminum bars,tires,it would be a 2012 survival machine,that I feel could serve all purposes,Ive been in contact with guys,one was 83!that rode this bike,or a comparable example from places like Texas,and Memphis,to the Panama canal!Im a retired Army vet,living in Panama already,my idea is to ride it back to the states,to see my mother in louisiana,and then on to Florida to tend my 2 acre rental property,and see some friends,and go to the VA for a bottle of pills or 2.I see no reason why this cant be done,Ive already got the route from another biker,who GPSed the whole trip,he has the food,fuel,lodging all mapped out,Im gonna go for it,I just would like some feed back from some KLR owners,a cop is coming over to buy my XR 250 Ive been riding it dual sport since 2000,it has never let me down!It is fully street legal,oil is changed every 500 miles,like clock work,it still looks new,I just put a rear tire on it monday,I go through them like water.I did all the mods myself,I used my blown 96 xrl250 parts bike to make it street legal. KLR-650,and away we go!:moon: :thumbsup:also,its an 09,and its blue and black.I hope all my XR brothers dont get mad at me for the mutiney,but there not available here,and Kawasaki is,nothing personal,just business.:thumbsup:

Well,I see Kawasaki owners really are a different breed,Excuse me,theres tons of other sites,Ill go there for my info.Thanks for nothing!!!