YZ426 Trail Conversion

Howzit fellas,

I am fairly new to TT and enjoy reading the topics. I don't contribute because I simply don't know much about my bike as I kept it completely stock. I have been back on for about a year now since a 15 year break. I rode a '84 IT 490 since I was 12 then after high school not much at all.

Well, some 15 years later I picked up an '00 426 to get back into dirt biking. What can I say but they've came a long way in suspension! I live in the Phoenix area and ride the desert trails (enduro & two-track) as well as some technical mountain-climbing. I don't race and am only a weekend warrior.

I am wanting to make the bike more 'trailable'. My problems I am currently having are:

* stalling going up mountain sides that are technical

* a 'bitchy' clutch that's difficult to feather

* not enough low end

My gearing as purchased on the bike (used) is 15/48. I am going to change to 13 & 14/53 based on some of what I have read on this forum. I'm sure that will help allot. My question is I am also considering a 12oz heavier flywheel & the magura hydraulic clutch.

ARE THESE WORTH IT & WILL THEY HELP ADDRESS THE ABOVE PROBLEMS? :)

Money is not too big of a deal if the parts work, but of course no one wants to light a match to $400.

Anyone's input is appreciated.

Thanks,

AB

http://members.cox.net/angrybob

Welcome back to the fold...

I ride/race an '01 426 offroad as well. The only mods I've done to the bike are to have the

suspension revalved for offroad plushness. I shouldn't say "only" mods, as I have a damper,

handguards, etc... all the enduro necessities.

As far as stalling, I've read (no firsthand experience) that a 8-10oz flywheel weight all

but cures the problem. I like the snap so I've left mine as-is.

On the clutch, I think the grabbiness you're seeing is inherent to the 2000 model. Replacing

the basket with a Hinson unit should fix that problem. I'm not sure if the juice clutch

will fix your problem.