Sign in to follow this  

Horsepower or horsepoo(er)?

OK we ride XRs here - so I guess we luv 'em. But how do they really stack up against more modern bikes? On paper there is as much horse power in a modern 250cc MX bike as there is in an XR400.... but how does the ride compare??? Is the XR better at low revs? does it handle better or worse? is the suspension better or worse? etc.

I have not ridden many other bikes on the trails, but on bitumen the XR400 is like a bicycle with a flat tyre compared to the KTM, Huskie and Kawasaki 450s I have tested (strewth how do those guys keep the back wheel hooked up with all that power).

True story: We de-restricted a new '08 KLX450R for a client (I sell bikes for a living) and today (after his first ride) he phoned up and asked if we could reverse the proceedure because the dang thing was just too brutal for him; he preferred his mate's 510 Husqvarna because that was not as quick. LOL

Meat (Sheesh i love dirtbikes) bomb...........

I think one of the main draws for the XR engines is longevity and the fact they don't need frequent maintenance.

Yes the newer bikes make more power, typically at higher RPM's but the power comes at a cost. All that hi RPM running increases the maintenance intervals like adjusting valves and rebuilding the top ends.

As for the handling and ride I can't say I have only ridden XR's and XL's off road.

Darrell

ive had my properly set up xr400 for about 5 or 6 years and i cant hop on any 250f even if its not set up for me i am considerbly faster on the 250f instantly though i feel like i am murdering the bike riding it at those rpm's. but it sure is fun.

One of my riding buddies is riding a CRF450R. Occasionally, I find myself riding it for a few minutes and then want to get back to my humble XR4.

The reasons?