My New 250

I just got a 2007 YZ 250 2 stroke, up from a CRF 250R. I love it, the only problem is when I'm on the pipe, I feel like the bike just wants to rocket out from under me. I have been riding for almost 8 years and have gotten pretty good. On all my previous bikes (250F, 125 2t, 85 2t, etc...) I've been able to hit desert whoops really well, like 4th or 5th gear, wrung out. On this bike, when ever I'm on the pipe and want to lift the front wheel over some whoops, it wants to jump out from under, which is pretty scary. I'm guessing this is what it will feel like when I'm jumping at the track too.

The bike has a VForce reed in it, how much does that affect it? I guess my real question is are you guys on 250 2 strokes riding these things on the pipe when jumping or going through whoops, or are you upshifting to smooth out the power a little bit? Thanks in advance. :busted:

i put a g2 throttle cam on my rm. i use the #400 cam. no control problems. it slows down the carb opening, more forgiving if i get whiskey throttle. it still ends up wot at the same point. its so smooth i feel almost 0 hit.

i had a YZ 250 and thought it was smooth as butter compared to my modded CR250. it is prob something you will have to get used to as the power delivery is different then that of a 4 banger.

you can try a gear higher or a flywheel weight. problem with the gear higher is the power hit you would need sometimes won't be there

Until you get comfortable with the powerband, accelerate harder out of the preceding corner so you can hit the jumps/whoops smoother in a gear higher. If you are concerned about which technique is faster (i.e., lower gear tapped vs. higher gear smooth), have someone time your laps or your times on various sections of the track. Some of the YZ 250s I have ridden hit harder than others and take a while to get used to, just like a CR 250.